The fort is a massive triangular structure built in laterite with a ditch and strong flanking bastions.The Duthch captured the fort from the Portuguese in 1663 and sold it to Ali Raja of Kannur in 1772,from whom the British captured it in 1790. The British rebuilt the fort and made it their most important military station in Malabar.
This was the residence of the former Arakkal Ali Rajas, the only Muslim Royal Family of Kerala. The Museum is protected by the Archeological Department.
This Academy is located at Chirakkal, 8 kms from the city. It has got a museum on theyyam and visitors are allowed on working days .
Kannur is famous for its Beedi ( An indian version of Cigars ). Visitors are allowed to have an experience at different branches of Kerala Dinesh Beedi Co-Operatve, employing a large number of villagers.
Kannur is known as the bLand of Looms and Lores. In ancient times, hand weaving was one of the main occupation here. The Loknath weavers co-operative still goes with its traditional hand weaving. Visitors are allowed to watch this skillfull handweaving.
Costa Malabari, Near Adikadalayi Temple, Kannur, Kerala, Phone: +919447775691, Mail: email@example.com
©2019 Powered by Extremaa Technologies